Support Remote Buddy FAQ License, License code & online verification

I'm asked to re-enter my license code after every restart/relaunch.

Remote Buddy uses the OS X preferences system to save the license data. The hierarchic preferences system separately saves preferences for all or single users, or for a particular system.

Remote Buddy encrypts and saves the license information under com.iospirit.remotebuddy.license according to the selections made. If file permissions are changed after that, this can create a scenario where Remote Buddy can save license data successfully but OS X will return a different set of data from a different hierarchy level when Remote Buddy asks for it the next time.

As a consequence of that, Remote Buddy may be able to always save the entered data successfully, but, since it gets different data from OS X the next time it is started, it will prompt you for your license data again when it is next launched.

If this problem occurs, the different versions of the license file should be deleted. You can achieve this by:

  1. Quittung Remote Buddy (if it runs).
  2. Delete the files starting with com.iospirit.remotebuddy.license from the following directories:
    • /Library/Preferences/
    • /Library/Preferences/ByHost/
    • ~/Library/Preferences/
    • ~/Library/Preferences/ByHost/
    You can also achieve this by entering
    mkdir ~/Desktop/RemoteBuddyLicenseFiles/;sudo mv /Library/Preferences/com.iospirit.remotebuddy.license*.plist ~/Desktop/RemoteBuddyLicenseFiles/;sudo mv /Library/Preferences/ByHost/com.iospirit.remotebuddy.license*.plist ~/Desktop/RemoteBuddyLicenseFiles/;mv ~/Library/Preferences/com.iospirit.remotebuddy.license*.plist ~/Desktop/RemoteBuddyLicenseFiles/;mv ~/Library/Preferences/ByHost/com.iospirit.remotebuddy.license*.plist ~/Desktop/RemoteBuddyLicenseFiles/
    
    into Terminal.app eingeben (this creates a directory on your desktop and moves the files into it).
  3. Enter
    killall cfprefsd
    in Terminal.app to remote cached versions of the files just deleted from memory.
  4. When you launch Remote Buddy the next time, it should be the last time you're asked for your license info.

Last updated: Jul 13, 2015