Support
All support resources for our products. Here you can find answers to frequently asked questions, discuss with other users, recover a lost license code or file a support request.
Forum closed
This forum was closed and turned into an archive effective April 21, 2018. It is no longer possible to create new topics or reply to existing topics.

Thanks everyone for all the great questions and contributions over the years.

Please use the Contact form to get in touch.

Remote Buddy Forum

Overview 

AuthorThread
User

22.11.2010 15:25:52
Apple remote & RemoteBuddy not working
View

This posting is older than 6 months and can contain outdated information.
A complete newbie question, but after paying for the RemoteBuddy license, my AppleRemote no longer works on any application. I have tried restarting the whole machine, and restarted RB many times. Is there an obvious checkbox to force a connection? Before RB the Apple remote would work with FrontRow and iTunes, etc. The trial RB worked great on all apps, but nothing seems to go now. Anyway to force RB to reconnect to devices?

My Apple remote is only a few months old (and unused until I got RB) so I doubt it is the battery. All settings look okay (Built-in IR receives set to 'green'). Maybe a setting on my Mac has gone wrong so the remote doesn't connect to the Mac itself?

I realize Apple's are not the best at connecting to devices and Apple try to block 3rd party software, but I assume this should be okay?

Like I said, probably a simple setting somewhere.

Thanks in advance. 

These entries from the FAQ may be relevant to this topic:

Hardware
Hardware - Apple® Remote
User

22.11.2010 19:28:46
Re: Apple remote & RemoteBuddy not working
View

Thanks for asking.

There is no difference between the trial version or the full version (except for the demo timeout). Both are completely identical - byte for byte. So, this certainly isn't it.