Support
All support resources for our products. Here you can find answers to frequently asked questions, discuss with other users, recover a lost license code or file a support request.
Forum closed
This forum was closed and turned into an archive effective April 21, 2018. It is no longer possible to create new topics or reply to existing topics.

Thanks everyone for all the great questions and contributions over the years.

Please use the Contact form to get in touch.

Remote Buddy Forum

Overview 

AuthorThread
User

10.08.2011 06:33:23
Remote Buddy with Plex
View

This posting is older than 6 months and can contain outdated information.
Hi! I am new to mac (just got my first imac yesterday). I am using Plex to create a media centre for the imac. All good so far. The Apple remote works exactly as I want it to.

However - Lion as ruined the wake from sleep feature. As documeted elswhere, the screen will not wake the system. I am aware the current version of remote buddy fixes this.

So this is my question - can I install remote buddy but keep the exact functionality I currently have with my apple remote. By that I mean when I am in the OS and press menu, I want plex to open automatically as it already does. I don't want an extra remote buddy menu to go through before plex opens.

Is there a way to maintain this fuctionality (i.e. no remote buddy menus) but also get the benefit of remote buddy waking up the screen when it goes to sleep? If so - can you please document how to do this?

Thanks! 
Josh 

These entries from the FAQ may be relevant to this topic:

Hardware - Apple® Remote
User

10.08.2011 10:10:01
Re: Remote Buddy with Plex
View

Thanks for asking.

You can pass through all Apple Remote events directly to the system using Remote Buddy's Virtual Remote. For this, you can follow the pictured "Harmony" Q&A here:

http://www.iospirit.com/blog/article/131/Remote-Buddy-and-Boxee-Plex-and-XBMC/