Support
All support resources for our products. Here you can find answers to frequently asked questions, discuss with other users, recover a lost license code or file a support request.
Forum closed
This forum was closed and turned into an archive effective April 21, 2018. It is no longer possible to create new topics or reply to existing topics.

Thanks everyone for all the great questions and contributions over the years.

Please use the Contact form to get in touch.

Remote Buddy Forum

Overview 

AuthorThread
User

17.03.2013 21:08:56
is there a way to login during startup with the apple remote and RBExpress by running RBExpress as daemon?
View

This posting is older than 6 months and can contain outdated information.
Hi,

I am a software engineer and would like to implement a feature which involves being able to login with the apple remote & RBExpress during system startup. I have read a previous post with a similar question that said it wasn"t possible because the user needs to login for the login item to auto launch. I understand this concept to be a login item/ launch agent in terms of Mac OSx Mountain Lion. Launch agents will launch after user login because those are user specific. On the other hand, a daemon is system-wide service call which can be done before user login.

Question 1 : Is it possible to run the app as a daemon? A requirement (from the launchd program) being that it doesn't use fork (if you try to daemonize the process) so launchd doesn't loose control of the process. Is the RB system broken into service and stand alone UI front-end? I think it is split; from the usage it seems the preferences UI modifies parameters of an active background process. Can I assume the front-end layer is forking the active background service? Or is the service as a main process forking a perferences pane? In any case, is there a way to call at the api/class/object to activate on startup as a system-wide service called by root?